ARC Review: Tell the Wind and Fire by Sarah Rees Brennan

Tell the Wind and Fire
Author: Sarah Rees Brennan
Series: Standalone
Genre: YA, Fantasy, Romance, Retelling
Release Date: April 5th 2016
Book Length: 368
Publisher: Clarion
In a city divided between opulent luxury in the Light and fierce privations in the Dark, a determined young woman survives by guarding her secrets.

Lucie Manette was born in the Dark half of the city, but careful manipulations won her a home in the Light, celebrity status, and a rich, loving boyfriend. Now she just wants to keep her head down, but her boyfriend has a dark secret of his own—one involving an apparent stranger who is destitute and despised. Lucie alone knows the young men’s deadly connection, and even as the knowledge leads her to make a grave mistake, she can trust no one with the truth.

Blood and secrets alike spill out when revolution erupts. With both halves of the city burning, and mercy nowhere to be found, can Lucie save either boy—or herself??

Review: The Winner's Kiss by Marie Rutkoski

The Winner's Kiss
Author: Marie Rutkoski
Series: The Winner's Trilogy #3
Genre: YA, Fantasy, Romance
Release Date: March 24th 2016
Book Length: 484
Publisher: Bloomsbury, thank you so much for my copy <3
War has begun. Arin is in the thick of it with untrustworthy new allies and the empire as his enemy. Though he has convinced himself that he no longer loves Kestrel, Arin hasn’t forgotten her, or how she became exactly the kind of person he has always despised. She cared more for the empire than she did for the lives of innocent people—and certainly more than she did for him.

At least, that’s what he thinks.

In the frozen north, Kestrel is a prisoner in a brutal work camp. As she searches desperately for a way to escape, she wishes Arin could know what she sacrificed for him. She wishes she could make the empire pay for what they’ve done to her.

But no one gets what they want just by wishing.

As the war intensifies, both Kestrel and Arin discover that the world is changing. The East is pitted against the West, and they are caught in between. With so much to lose, can anybody really win?

Review: The Great Hunt by Wendy Higgins

The Great Hunt
Author: Wendy Higgins
Series: Eurona Duology #1
Genre: YA, Fantasy, Romance, Retellings
Release Date: March 8th 2016
Book Length: 416
Publisher: HarperTeen
“Aerity…” Her father paused as if the words he was forming pained him. “I must ask you to sacrifice the promise of love for the sake of our kingdom.”

She could only stare back, frozen.

When a strange beast terrorizes the kingdom of Lochlanach, fear stirs revolt. In an act of desperation, a proclamation is sent to all of Eurona—kill the creature and win the ultimate prize: the daughter of King Lochson’s hand in marriage.

Princess Aerity knows her duty to the kingdom but cannot bear the idea of marrying a stranger…until a brooding local hunter, Paxton Seabolt, catches her attention. There’s no denying the unspoken lure between them…or his mysterious resentment.

Paxton is not the marrying type. Nor does he care much for spoiled royals and their arcane laws. He’s determined to keep his focus on the task at hand—ridding the kingdom of the beast—but the princess continues to surprise him, and the perilous secrets he’s buried begin to surface.

Inspired by the Grimm Brothers’ tale “The Singing Bone,” New York Times bestselling author Wendy Higgins delivers a dark fantasy filled with rugged hunters, romantic tension, and a princess willing to risk all to save her kingdom.

Steel & Stone Blog Tour + Giveaway!

Hey guys!

So today is my stop on the incredible Steel & Stone blog tour. I only discovered this series a few weeks ago and it's already one of my favourites of the year, it's amazing and I highly recommend it to everyone. I will be reviewing the Steel & Stone bundle set so this blog post will be pretty long, sorry but there's a fantastic giveaway at the end so don't worry, I've got you covered!

Review: Passenger by Alexandra Bracken

Author: Alexandra Bracken
Series: Passenger #1
Genre: YA, Fantasy, Sci-Fi, Time Travel, Romance
Release Date: January 5th 2016
Book Length: 486
Publisher: Disney-Hyperion
Passage, n.
i. A brief section of music composed of a series of notes and flourishes.
ii. A journey by water; a voyage.
iii. The transition from one place to another, across space and time.

In one devastating night, violin prodigy Etta Spencer loses everything she knows and loves. Thrust into an unfamiliar world by a stranger with a dangerous agenda, Etta is certain of only one thing: she has traveled not just miles but years from home. And she’s inherited a legacy she knows nothing about from a family whose existence she’s never heard of. Until now.

Nicholas Carter is content with his life at sea, free from the Ironwoods—a powerful family in the colonies—and the servitude he’s known at their hands. But with the arrival of an unusual passenger on his ship comes the insistent pull of the past that he can’t escape and the family that won’t let him go so easily. Now the Ironwoods are searching for a stolen object of untold value, one they believe only Etta, Nicholas’ passenger, can find. In order to protect her, he must ensure she brings it back to them— whether she wants to or not.

Together, Etta and Nicholas embark on a perilous journey across centuries and continents, piecing together clues left behind by the traveler who will do anything to keep the object out of the Ironwoods’ grasp. But as they get closer to the truth of their search, and the deadly game the Ironwoods are play­ing, treacherous forces threaten to sep­arate Etta not only from Nicholas but from her path home . . . forever

BlogTour&Review: Crush by Eve Ainsworth

Author: Eve Ainsworth
Series: Standalone
Genre: YA, Contemporary
Release Date: March 3rd 2016
Book Length: 228
Publisher: Scholastic
Love hurts ... but should it hurt this much? Reeling from her mum's sudden departure, Anna finds the comfort she needs in her blossoming relationship with Will. He's handsome and loving, everything Anna has always dreamt of. He's also moody and unpredictable, pushing her away from her friends, her music. He wants her to be his and his alone. He wants her to be perfect. Anna's world is closing in. But threatening everything is a dark secret that not even Will can control... Eve Ainsworth's gripping second novel is a pitch-perfect exploration of love at its most powerful, addictive and destructive.

Cover Reveal: Rose Blood by A. G. Howard


More A. G. Howard?
Fantasy with a little horror thrown in?
A Retelling?
Yes please!

In this modern day spinoff of Leroux’s gothic tale of unrequited love turned to madness, seventeen-year-old Rune Germaine has a mysterious affliction linked to her operatic talent, and a horrifying mistake she’s trying to hide.

Hoping creative direction will help, Rune’s mother sends her to a French arts conservatory for her senior year, located in an opera house rumored to have ties to The Phantom of the Opera. At RoseBlood, Rune secretly befriends the masked Thorn -- an elusive violinist who not only guides her musical transformation through dreams that seem more real than reality itself, but somehow knows who she is behind her own masks.

As the two discover an otherworldly connection, a soul-deep romance blossoms. But when Thorn’s dark agenda comes to light, he’s forced to make a deadly choice: lead Rune to her destruction, or face the wrath of the phantom who has haunted the opera house for a century, and is the only father he’s ever known.

I love this cover, I love that it's similar to the Splintered series, they will look fantastic on my shelf ;) I adore Howard's gorgeously eerie writing, if anyone can mix fantasy and horror together it's her. I'm so excited to see how she rewrite's/retell's A Phantom of the Opera, it's sure to be fascinating.

So, what do you guys think of the cover?
It's released January 2017, so get this on your TBR shelves now..
Rose Blood - Goodreads

ARC Review: Star Struck by Jenny McLachlan

Star Struck
Author: Jenny Mclachlan
Series: Ladybirds #4
Genre: YA, Contemporary
Release Date: March 10th 2016
Book Length: 336
Publisher: Bloomsbury
Following on from Flirty Dancing, Love Bomb and Sunkissed, Jenny McLachlan's next book is perfect for fans of Geek Girl and Louise Rennison.

In a huge fantastic final hurrah to our lovable heroines - Bea, Betty, Kat and Pearl - Jenny McLachlan's latest book tells Pearl's story. Pearl is the 'bad girl' of the group - she drinks, she smokes, she swears - and she's mean to Bea and Betty. But she did fly halfway round the world to rescue Kat in Sunkissed. If there's one thing Pearl knows deep down, it is how to be a friend. And now, more than ever, she could really use a friend.

There will be laughter, there will be tears and there will definitely be kissing. Most importantly, Pearl will be keeping it fierce!

Review: Did I Mention I Need You? by Estelle Maskame

Did I Mention I Need You?
Author: Estelle Maskame
Series: The DIMILY Trilogy #2
Genre: Romance, YA, Contemporary
Release Date: March 1st 2016
Book Length: 384
Publisher: Sourcebooks Fire
Love has no rules.

It's been a year since Eden Munro last saw Tyler Bruce: her stepbrother...and secret love. Although they swore to ignore their feelings and put their family first, Eden can't help but feel excited when Tyler invites her to join him in New York City for the summer.

But it's not like anything is going to happen. Eden is happy with her boyfriend Dean, and she knows gorgeous, green-eyed Tyler must have moved on as well. But as they spend the long, hot summer in the city that never sleeps, it becomes obvious that those old feelings are still there...simmering beneath the surface. Will Tyler and Eden be able to resist temptation?

Did I Mention I Need You? is book two in Wattpad sensation Estelle Maskame's DIMILY trilogy: three unforgettable summers of secrets, heartbreak and forbidden romance.